Our Mission

The mission of the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science (ASCLS) is to promote the profession of clinical laboratory science and provide beneficial services to those who practice it.


To enable its members to provide quality services for all consumers, the society is committed to the continuous quest for excellence in all its activities.



Got an Idea?

Suggest to


Have an idea for an article in Bayou Tech?

Is there a topic for which you would like more information?

We'd love to hear it! 

Email your suggestion to lsclsorg@gmail.com.



2020 LSCLS

Award Winners

Member of the Year

Karen Williams

Educator of the Year

Jennifer Bushnell

Student of the Year

James Hollowell

Keys to the Future Award

James Hollowell

Monika Paneru

Mikayla Thompson

Presidential Service Award

Karrie Hovis
Karen Williams

60 Year Special Member Award

Sonya Trebucq

30 Year Special Member Award

Robert Sullivan 
Elizabeth Williams 
Michele Zitzman 

20 Year Special Member Award

Kim Middleton 

Omicron Sigma Awards

Norma Bivona, Lee Ellen Brunson, Jennifer Bushnell, Luke Caruso, Cheryl Caskey, James Hollowell, Karrie Hovis, Jessica Lasiter, Monika Paneru, Jessica Peel, Cheyenne Reyes, Joette Taylor, Mikayla Thompson, Michele Werner, Karen Williams, Stephanie Blackburn, Lynda Britton, James Gardner

Student Paper Awards

AdministrationThe Potential of Utilizing Twitter for Early Disease Outbreak Detection by Morgan Hildebrand from LSU Health Shreveport

Blood BankMassive Transfusion Protocol: How Much Does It Really Cost? by Audra Callender from LSU Health Shreveport

HematologyFatal Cardiac Hemochromatosis in a Patient with Hereditary Spherocytosis by Jessica Pittman from LSU Health Shreveport

Molecular – Rare Occurrence of Triple Negative Breast Cancer in a Patient with Down’s Syndrome by Katelynd Wren from LSU Health Shreveport

ChemistryBiliary Atresia: Diagnosis, Complications and Treatment in Infants and Neonates by Carly Barrere from LSU Health Shreveport

ImmunologyEight Cases of E-cigarette or Vaping Associated Lung Injury (EVALI) by Destiny Potts from LSU Health Shreveport

Microbiology Zoonotic Transmission of Leprosy by Nine-Banded Armadillos by Allison DeLatin from LSU Health Shreveport

For any awards questions, please contact: 

Jessica Lasiter

700 University Avenue

Sugar Hall 253

Monroe, LA 71209


Our Society Leaders

James Gardner

Bylaws, Policies & Procedures

2021-2022 Leadership

Coming soon

Luke Caruso_edited_edited_edited.png
President Elect
Luke Caruso

Board Meeting Minutes










For any awards questions, please contact us at


Students (Developing)

and New (Ascending) Professionals

Cheyenne Reyes.jpg
Mikayla Thompson.jpg

Mikayla Thompson

Student Forum Chair

(Developing Professionals)

Cheyenne Reyes

New Professional Chair

(Ascending Professionals)

Norma Bivona

Student Forum/New Professional 


2022 Bistate Meeting 9.png

Make plans now to join us in New Orleans, LA Tuesday, April 19, 2022 through Friday, April 22, 2022 at the JW Marriott New Orleans located on Canal Street.  Planning is already underway.  An outstanding education program is being planned along with social activities, exhibits and a career fair.


Ready to make plans now?  Click here reserve your room at the JW Marriott.

Interested in presenting?

Click here to propose an education session for the 2022 Bistate Meeting.  Proposals will be accepted until May 31, 2021.

Attention Industry Partners: 

We would like to invite you to participate in the 2022 Bistate Meeting.  We have opportunities for sponsorship, exhibit participation & career fair involvement.  Click here to download the 2022 Engagement Prospectus.  

Laissez les bons temps roule!